Mongolia Public Holidays

Whether you are a local searching for a short break or an international traveler, Public Holiday Info Portal is here to help you start planning your vacation

A public holiday, national holiday or legal holiday is a holiday generally established by law and is usually a non-working day during the year. This page contains public holidays sorted by years. Holiday dates may be change from time to time, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national holidays and short description of each holiday.
  • Mongolia is a landlocked country located at East Central Asia.
  • Public Holidays in Mongolia is regulated by the Labour Code of Mongolia, initial established in 1999.
  • Employee’s entitlement to National Public Holiday is different, actual days are usually follow employment contract or union bargaining agreements.
  • Mongolia Laws recommended that every employee entitle to at least 13 paid holidays per year.
  • As a predominately Buddhist country, majority of holiday are observed base on Buddhist religious and culture.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day (Шинэ жил) - Shine jil. First day of the year on the modern Gregorian calendar as well as the Julian calendar
26 FebSunBituun - Mongolian Lunar New Year's Eve
27 FebMonMongolian Lunar New Year / Tsagaan Sar (Цагаан сар) - Commonly known as Tsagaan Sar. Is the first day of the year according to the Mongolian lunisolar calendar. Celebrated by the Mongols along with the people of the Arctic. Year of the Red Hen
28 FebTueLunar New Year Holiday
1 MarWedLunar New Year Holiday
8 MarWedInternational Women's Day (Олон Улсын Эмэгтэйчүүдийн Баяр) - Commemorates the movement for women's rights
1 JunThursMothers' and Children's Day (Эх үрсийн баяр) - Is a celebration and show appreciation for mothers and children all across the country
11 JulTueNaadam Holiday (Наадам) - A five-day holiday to coincide with the Naadam Festival. Naadam festival in locally termed means "the three games of men". There are Mongolian wrestling, horse racing, and archery, this festival held throughout the country during midsummer.
12 JulWedNaadam Holiday (Наадам)
13 JulThursNaadam Holiday (Наадам)
14 JulFriNaadam Holiday (Наадам)
15 JulSatNaadam Holiday (Наадам)
5 NovSunGenghis Khan's Birthday (Чингис хааны төрсөн өдөр) - Established in 2012. This day expresses a symbolic birthday of Genghis Khan as his exact date of birth is not found
29 DecFriIndependence Day (Тусгаар Тогтнолын Өдөр) - Independence from the Qing Dynasty in 1911. However, the newly established Mongolian government was too weak to resist the occupation of the Republic of China in 1919 and later White Russia in early 1921. After ousting Roman von Ungern-Sternberg's forces, the new communist government was officially established on June 11, 1921

1 JanMonNew Year's Day
16 FebFriBituun (Lunar New Year's Eve)
17 FebSatLunar New Year / Tsagaan Sar (Year of the Red Hen)
18 FebSunLunar New Year Holiday
8 MarThursInternational Women's Day
1 JunFriMothers' and Children's Day
11 JulWedNaadam Holiday
12 JulThursNaadam Holiday
13 JulFriNaadam Holiday
14 JulSatNaadam Holiday
15 JulSunNaadam Holiday
1 NovThursGenghis Khan's Birthday
29 DecSatIndependence Day

It\\\'s only fair to share…Share on Facebook


0Share on Google+


0Tweet about this on Twitter


Share on LinkedIn